Excavations in the neolithic site of Nahal Efe (Israel). Looking for the last hunter-gatherers-collectors of the Negev drought area, 10,000 years ago.

The fourth excavation campaign of the Nahal Efe project supervised by Ferran Borrell from the Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas (IMF-CSIC) and by Jacob Vardi, from the Israel Antiquities Authority (IAA) has occurred in May 2019 in the drought area of the Negev (Israel). The team composed of Spanish, French and Israeli archaeologists has undertaken a new excavation campaign of three weeks in the neolithic site of Nahal Efe, an archaeological project which started in 2015.

The first objectives of the project were the study of the dissemination process of the Neolithic period in the semi-arid regions of the .Mediterranean Near-East (Negev, Sinai and Jordan) and the study of the interactions between the last hunter-gatherers of these regions and the nearby communities that were fully agricultural in the Pre-Pottery Neolithic B (PPNB). Another objective was to study the relations between societies and their environment in intense arid conditions in order to figure out how change in the early Holocene has impacted the development of the first agricultural societies in the Mediterranean southern Levant.

This site, which goes back 10 000 years, is probably the main establishment of its era for the entire Negev area. It extends an estimated area of 2000 m2. The habitat consists in semi-circular units with stone walls of three to five meters in diameter. Three of these structures have been excavated and a dozen have been identified, illustrating that the site has been a genuine settlement area. The preservation of the site is very favorable, the stone walls can be preserved at a height of about one meter.

The work realized the previous years has been focused on the identification of the site extent, the confirmation of its chronology and on the estimated quality of its preservation. The 2019 campaign has aimed the analysis on-site of the already excavated structures and their contemporaneity ; it aimed at understanding better the internal organization of the site and documenting the architectural construction techniques of big circular stone houses brought to light. This will lead to the first elements of analysis on the number of inhabitants in the site and their mobility patterns. This campaign has also been concentrated on the data related to the community livelihood in Nahal Efe, among which the sampling of botanical remains (pollens, phytoliths etc.), which are likely to become key elements of the palaeo-environmental restitution of the settlements’ environment. These elements will help apprehending which plant species were used by the Nahal Efe inhabitants as fuel and daily diet.

Most of the research realised is essential for studying and contextualising the community living in Nahal Efe during the Pre-Pottery Neolithic B. The output differs significantly from the previously accepted settlement patterns in this region that assumed the Negev was inhabited by little groups of nomadic hunter-gatherers. Indeed the data collected from the excavated site shows a high number of residential structures (potentially contemporary to each other) and a consequent investment in the construction of the habitat structures (stone walls and floors made out of gypsum!). These elements make us consider Nahal Efe as a relatively important settlement of hunter-gatherers with a most likely sedentary lifestyle. In addition, there are other indications - of a lesser importance – supporting this thesis, such as sickle blades typically used in the cereal cultivation (so far four blades) as well as a significant number of grinding tools.

The Nahal Efe is the only archaeological research project supported by Spain in Israel. It is funded by the Fundación Palarq, from Ministerio de Ciencia, Innovación y Universidades, from Dirección General de Bellas Artes y Patrimonio Cultural, the CSIC, the .Israel Science Foundation, from Levi-Sala CARE Foundation and from the French Research Center in Jerusalem (CNRS-CRFJ).

Article written by Dr. Ferran Borrell, project investigator, researcher of the CSIC- Intitución Milà i Fontanals, and associate researcher of the CRFJ.

Fouilles du site néolithique de Nahal Efe (Israël). À la recherche des derniers chasseurs-cueilleurs-collecteurs des régions arides du Néguev, il y à 10 000 ans.

La quatrième campagne de fouilles du projet Nahal Efe, dirigée par Ferran Borrell, du Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas (IMF-CSIC) et Jacob Vardi, de l’ Israel Antiquities Authority (IAA) s’est déroulée au mois de mai 2019 dans la zone désertique du Néguev (Israël). L’équipe, constitué d’archéologues espagnols, français et israéliens a mené une nouvelle campagne de fouilles de trois semaines sur le site néolithique de Nahal Efe, un projet archéologique qui a débuté en 2015.

 

Les premiers objectifs du projet étaient l’étude du processus de diffusion du Néolithique dans les régions semi-désertiques de l’Orient méditerranéen (Néguev, Sinaï et Jordanie) et celles des interactions entre les derniers chasseurs-cueilleurs de ces régions avec les populations voisines, pleinement agricoles durant le Néolithique Précéramique B (PPNB). Un autre objectif était d’étudier les relations sociétés-environnement dans des conditions de forte aridité pour savoir dans quelle mesure les changements des débuts de l’Holocène ont pu avoir un impact sur le développement des premières sociétés agricoles du Levant Sud méditerranéen.

Datant de 10 000 ans, ce site est probablement le principal établissement de son époque pour l’ensemble du Néguev. Son extension est estimée à 2000 m2. L’habitat est celui d’unités semi-circulaires aux murs en pierres de trois à cinq mètres de diamètre. Trois de ces structures ont déjà été fouillées et une douzaine ont été identifiées en prospection, illustrant ainsi un site qui fut un véritable lieu de peuplement. La conservation du site est très favorable, les murs en pierres peuvent être conservés sur une élévation de près d’un mètre.

Les travaux réalisés les années précédentes se sont concentrés sur la reconnaissance de l’extension du site, la confirmation de sa chronologie et sur l’estimation de sa qualité de conservation. La campagne 2019 a eu pour objectif d’établir, au sein du site, le niveau de contemporanéité des différentes structures déjà fouillées, de mieux comprendre l’organisation interne du site et de documenter les techniques de construction architecturales des grandes maisons circulaires en pierre déjà mis au jour. Ceci va permettre d’apporter les premiers éléments de réflexion sur le nombre d’habitants du site et leur mode de mobilité. Durant cette campagne, un « focus » a été mis également sur les données permettant de reconnaitre le mode de subsistance de la communauté vivant à Nahal Efe avec, entre autres, le prélèvement des nombreux restes botaniques (charbons, pollens et phytolithes) qui constitueront des éléments clefs pour la restitution paléo-environnementale du milieu dans lequel s’inscrivait le peuplement. Ces éléments permettront également de comprendre quelles espèces végétales étaient utilisées par les habitants de Nahal Efe, tant pour les combustibles que pour les aliments.

L’ensemble des recherches effectué est essentiel pour l’étude et la contextualisation de la communauté vivant à Nahal Efe au cours de la période du Néolithique Précéramique B moyen. Les résultats obtenus diffèrent significativement du modèle de peuplement traditionnellement admise pour cette région qui postulait que l’occupation du Néguev était faite par de petits groupes nomades de chasseurs-cueilleurs. En fait, les données issues des fouilles du site, montrent un nombre élevé de structures résidentielles (potentiellement contemporaines les unes des autres) et un grand investissement dans la construction des structures d’habitat (murs en pierres et sols en plâtre !). Ceci nous portent à considérer Nahal Efe comme un établissement de chasseurs-cueilleurs relativement important et occupé selon un mode de vie qui semble sédentaire. A cela s’ajoute d’autres indices, de signification toutefois moins importantes, tels que la présence de lames de faucilles au lustre caractéristique de la coupe de céréales (au nombre de quatre jusqu’ici) ainsi qu’un nombre non négligeable d’outils de moutures.

Le projet Nahal Efe est actuellement le seul projet de recherche archéologique soutenu par l’Espagne en Israël. Son financement vient de la Fundación Palarq, du Ministerio de Ciencia, Innovación y Universidades, de la Dirección General de Bellas Artes y Patrimonio Cultural, du CSIC, de l’Israel Science Foundation, de la Levi-Sala CARE Foundation et du Centre de Recherche Français à Jérusalem (CNRS-CRFJ).

Article rédigé par le Dr. Ferran Borrell, directeur du projet, chercheur du CSIC- Intitución Milà i Fontanals, et chercheur associé du CRFJ.